Hand Lettering and Bible Journaling

I’ve long been fascinated with the beauty and style of hand lettering.  I’ve also told myself the lie that “I can’t do that” because all the measuring and precision simply overwhelm me.  That is until I tried it and realized that I could do it my way (without the measuring and precision) and it still looked pretty cool.

I am still in awe of artists like the Hand Lettering Company who do things like this

or this

I’ve practiced and taken classes and practiced some more.  I’ve purchased books like Joanne Sharpe‘s “The Art of Whimsical Lettering” and practiced some more.  Have I said yet that practice is the key?

I have a pinterest board that is filled with inspiration for me to draw from.

What it really comes down to is practicing.  The supplies are really not as important as just doing it….with whatever you have at hand.  Pencil and paper work just fine.

Here are a few of my favorite projects.

wpid-wp-1411911105869.jpg

wpid-wp-1411911472531.jpg

What I’ve learned over the past year of playing with hand lettering?  You guessed it..Practice!

I like what I create.  Is it perfect? NO!  But it is mine and I love it.  It comes from the heart.  It is my quiet time and when I pair it with scripture it is a meditative practice that helps me absorb the words in a way simply reading them can’t do.

This blog post is in response to a request I received from Shonna Slayton to participate in a blog hop about hand lettering.  Take a look at what she has been up to…Who knows, you might be inspired to pick up a pencil and try some yourself.

If you are looking for a time to get away and be inspired, check out my regularly scheduled “Bible Journaling Meetup” at A Work of Heart here in San Jose.  I host this meetup on the 2nd Saturday afternoon of the month.  Wowza..that’s today!  Shoot me an email (andrea@aworkofheart.com) if you want to come.

One thought on “Hand Lettering and Bible Journaling

  1. Thanks, Andrea! I just started working my way through The Art of Whimsical Lettering–what a wonderful book. You all are opening up a whole new world for me 😉

Leave a comment