Recap from my Creative Live Experience

Standard

It has been a month since I recorded 3 classes at Creative Live in San Francisco.  To say it was an amazing experience just doesn’t say enough.  From the moment I became familiar with the company I’ve been impressed over and over again.  For those of you who are unfamiliar, jump on over and check them out for yourself.

Creative Live is an online creative education resource.  Think of it as a grouping of T.V. channels that have free streaming classes all the time.  There are 5 channels; Photo & Video, Art & Design, Music & Audio, Craft & Maker (where my classes are) and Money & Life.  At any given moment you can hop on the website and watch anything that is currently playing.  You can also access their immense catalog of classes and purchase them for your very own leisurely learning experience.

Here I am loaded up.  My biggest fear was leaving something vital at the studio.

loaded

The good news…I didn’t leave anything vital!

My classes were generously sponsored by DecoArt & Art Alternatives

When I arrived at the studio I scored a sweet parking spot RIGHT IN FRONT (which is another fear of going into the city…parking!)  I was able to make it upstairs to the studio in 1 trip with a little help.  Here are Chris and Aleza helping me load up those awesome IKEA carts full of the supplies my students would use in class.

settingup

The best part of filling the carts was the knowledge that each student got to keep 95% of what was on the cart!!  I felt a little bit like Oprah!

The studio was super cool.  Here it is all set up and ready to roll.

theset

Next came “hair and makeup”…yes, it was as incredible as it sounded…I had to snap a shot of the table holding all the makeup to show my daughter who would be drooling.

hairandmakeup

In the kitchen we got set up with microphones.  I snapped a shot of the monitor because it was the first time I saw the graphic they used for my 1st class..I also captured a shot of my friend Barbara meeting the sound guy.

sound

 

How To Create Collage Paper was my first course to film.  Right out of the gate I felt totally comfortable.  This class is called “Juicy Papers” at the studio so those of you who know me, know it is one of my favorites.

I didn’t get many photos during my class but this is the sort of thing we were doing.

collage

collagepaper

These papers would come in handy in the Introduction to Art Journaling Class which came next.  Again, one of my favorite classes to teach.

artjournaling

It was so much fun having student I actually knew..Kate Richbourg, Barbara Faxon, Sarah Santora and Karen Fitting all applied to be students in the studio.  Creative Live periodically has open calls for students for their classes…keep an eye out if you are interested…I was in Stephenie Hamen’s class back in April and it was a really cool experience on that side of the camera too!

Here is Kate examining her Art Journal page mid way through the class as we took a break for lunch.

kate

Here is my page at the break.

artjournaling

Finally my 3rd class of the day…Recycle Your Art.  This is a new class for me but it consisted of parts of other classes I teach.  The concept for this class was that you can take photos of your favorite parts of your artwork, print them out and re-use them in new art.

Here is a picture I took in class as an example.

recycleart

We printed out pictures of our art journal pages from the previous class and collaged them down to a 16×20 canvas.  Here is the final piece of art for the day.

bethelight

Again, to say the experience was amazing is a gross understatement.  I’m looking forward to doing it again soon!

Here is a shot of the whole crew at the wrap.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Just so you know…..you can click any of the class titles I listed above and purchase the class for your very own!

 

 

Leave a Reply

