Week in review

Standard

Back to school should mean things get back to normal in the studio….Notice I say SHOULD…

This year seems to be different in the respect that summer was pretty mellow so the transition from summer to fall had been barely noticeable.  I still can’t believe Sunday marks the first day of SEPTEMBER!

We (Lexi & I) are thinking up all sorts of fun  holiday themed classes and workshops.  We have started working on ideas for our annual Gift Maker workshop (which you can register for here (Saturday night) or here  (Sunday daytime)) Though the graphics are not accurate on the calendar, they will show you some of the fun things we’ve done in the past.  This year will be (mostly) all new projects.

September 1 would mark the end of my 31 day challenge (self imposed/directed) of capturing the K-Love (Christian Radio Station) “Encouraging Word of the Day” in my Art Journal.  I don’t want to stop though!  It has made such a radical impact on my attitude and outlook, I plan to continue.  Spending dedicated time each day capturing something meaningful on an art journal page has proven critical to my positive attitude and outlook on life (in general).  Here are some of my more recent pages (still in progress)

Out of this daily practice I’ve developed some new classes to offer in the studio.  Lettering is my latest passion…not specifically hand lettering (though I’m going to focus on that in September) but mixed media lettering achieved in a variety of ways.

Here is a little unedited tutorial on masking and stamping you might enjoy.

One of these new classes is called “Instant Messaging A-Z”  This is more of a photo shoot than a class (so I’ll be editing the description and putting it back on the calendar).  In this session we set up all sorts of words and phrases and take photographs of them.  With some minimal computer skills you can take these photos and transform them into printable artful words and phrases.

Here is an example of one of the words from this week’s  session

So, you see…Each of these letters are simply laid out on a background (nothing stuck down permanently) So you can mix and match and make an unlimited number of words in combinations and shapes…oh my..it really is exciting.  Think of the possibilities for card making, art journaling, mixed media art…I could go on, but you really should join us for one of these “Instant Messaging” sessions. The next one is scheduled for Wednesday, Sept. 11 from 10am-12pm.  Click here to sign up.

Lettering isn’t all we focused on this week.  There was also a fun decoupage project involving a paper mache dress form.

Shawn did a great job!

and our book club (Inspired by Dina Wakley’s Art Journal Freedom)

Linda (brilliantly) uses hardware nuts to hold down her paper as a mask for spraying ink

Angela’s sprayed silhouette

 

Rhonda’s silhouettes

 

We studied dominance and repetition this week.

One last thing in this random blog post that has turned out to be more of a brain dump…

I now have a class request form on the website.  I really hope you will use this form to request a special session of any class or workshop we offer.  For example, if you are interested in the new “instant messaging” workshop but are only available Monday nights, please use the form and let me know you would be interested.  I try my best to schedule classes people are interested in taking when they are available to take them.  Without your input, scheduling is a little bit like throwing darts…I throw the classes on the calendar and see what sticks (ie..what people sign up for)  Please help me fine tune the target.

Have a lovely long weekend.  If you find yourself with some free time, join us for our Sunday workshop (1-6pm) Painting a canvas cover/art supply carrier and 12 mini journals

or either of Monday’s Painty Canvas projects…First is a Tote Bag and Second is a Journal and Zipper Pouch.

2 responses »

  1. Hi! I found your blog in the Art Jounaling magazine, and I’m so glad I did. Your story is so inspirational. I’m beginning to work with a friend to teach classes where we combine art journaling and life coaching. We love gathering women together to explore our lives and express it through art. Isn’t it amazing what it unleashes?!
    I would love to come and take a class some day at your studio. I live in southern calif., but my sister is in Los Gatos, so I’ll have to plan a visit around a class!
    xo
    Lynn

Leave a Reply

