working on the perpetual calendar kit

Standard

I was hit with inspiration tonight when writing up kit instructions…I’ve long admired this stamp from Ali Edward’s blog…we’ve had it in the studio for ages and it just hit me tonight when I was trying to come up with something that resonates with me for the perpetual calendar….for the MAKE! Monday kits next week.

So as I’m sketching out my ideas it hits me that the jumbo tags that Tim Holtz uses would be the perfect background for this project…incorporated with the stamp…

Here’s my progress so far…img_0365

As you can see…I embrace the messy stamping…smudges will happen, I look at them as embellishment opportunities and remember that “i designed it that way” is my motto…

After stamping on the tags I cut out chipboard letters from our accucut (black tie lower case 2 1/2″) I stamped the month using the heidi swapp script date stamp using burnt umber palette hybrid ink…

We shall see what the finished project comes out like but so far I like the progress…I may decide to make one that is oriented a bit different on the page using the bind-it-all to make it a book…I may decide to fold the tags into signatures and stitch them into a hard cover….oh the possibilities..

I love my job!

9:50pm update

img_0370

img_0371

Leave a Reply

